Sponsored Collection

Atlantic Books for the Holidays

9780676971071_cover

A Scientific Romance

by Ronald Wright

0 ratings
rated!
rated!
0 of 5
comments: 0
reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.

list price: $21.00
edition:Paperback
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: 1998
ISBN:9780676971071
publisher: Knopf Canada
imprint: Vintage Canada
Description

In this critically acclaimed and bestselling novel, Ronald Wright has fashioned a story for our times, an unforgettable chronicle of love, plague and time travel in the tradition of Nineteen Eighty-Four and The Handmaid's Tale.

close this panel
Contributor notes

Ronald Wright is the author of the international bestsellers Time Among the Maya and Stolen Continents and of Home and Away, an acclaimed collection of travel pieces. He lives near Port Hope, Ontario.

close this panel
Editorial Review

"Wright has come up with a treasure, a delightfully witty and suspenseful fantasy — in the rip-roaring tradition of the masters."
—Alberto Manguel, The Globe and Mail

"[A] virtuoso performance, an audacious leap ... into the unknown ... both beautifully realized and macabre.... This is an extraordinary novel, a brilliant synthesis of interpretive and imaginative elements, and, like the best fiction, a trenchant commentary on reality."
The Financial Post

"Dazzling — A Scientific Romance is — poetic, sexy, satirical, [and] layered with rich bits from the author's well-stocked mind."
The Globe and Mail

"A ripping yarn packed with head-turning ideas.... [Wright] artfully uses the archeology of the future to satiric ends.... A Scientific Romance is a feast of a read, succeeding both as entertainment and a provocative parable of environmental limits."
—Ted Mumford, NOW
"... A powerful visionary core ... few writers have imagined the future with such compelling and tragic urgency."
—John Bemrose, Maclean's
"Pure pleasure [and] — perfectly imagined....A deeply seductive and brilliantly sustained piece of adventure writing — enthrallingly descriptive, [which] turns into a compelling cultural satire."
The Observer

"In 100 years' time this book should be a classic."
The Guardian
"A skillful, thoughtful fantasy of the postmillennium ..."
The New York Times Book Review
"Cool, clever, and unsettling, A Scientific Romance [is] imaginatively created, richly detailed and at times effortlessly funny, [yet] bursting with rage at what is happening around us."
The Australian Bulletin

"...gloriously bizarre plotline...Ronald Wright..plays slyly with his literary tradition in his impressive first novel."
Sydney Morning Herald

close this panel

Buy this book at:


Other titles by Ronald Wright

more >

User Activity

more >
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...