Sponsored Collection

Atlantic Books for the Holidays


Dear Canada: A Time for Giving: Ten Tales of Christmas

by Jean Little; Sarah Ellis; Carol Matas; Karleen Bradford; Susan Aihoshi; Haworth-Attard, Barbara; Norah McClintock; Janet McNaughton & Ruby Slipperjack

0 ratings
0 of 5
comments: 0
reviews: 0
list price: $12.99
also available: Paperback
published: 2015

Featuring stories from nine outstanding Canadian authors, this anthology is the perfect Christmas gift for Dear Canada readers, both old and new!

A Time for Giving includes ten tales of Christmas, following the most recent Dear Canada diarists "the Christmas after" their diary ends. Johanna Leary is reunited with her brother after they were separated at Grosse-Île; Mary Kobayashi spends a second Christmas at a Japanese internment camp; Rose Rabinowitz finds some surprising challenges in her new country, and many more!

A Special Gift is a story from Ojibwe writer Ruby Slipperjack to preview her upcoming Dear Canada (coming in Fall 2016!), set the winter before the diarist is sent to Residential School.

Contributors include Jean Little (Exiles from the War and All Fall Down), Barbara Haworth- Attard (To Stand on My Own), Sarah Ellis (That Fatal Night), Susan Aihoshi (Torn Apart), Norah McClintock (A Sea of Sorrows), Karleen Bradford (A Country of Our Own), Janet McNaughton (Flame and Ashes), Carol Matas (Pieces of the Past), and Ruby Slipperjack.

close this panel
Editorial Review

Praise for Dear Canada: A Season for Miracles: Twelve Tales of Christmas

"From some of your favourite Dear Canada girls. These touching stories of Christmas offer a glimpse into each girl's diary a year after the events of their original diary."-Toronto Public Library

close this panel

Buy this book at:

About the Authors

Jean Little

Author profile page >

Sarah Ellis

Author profile page >

Carol Matas

Author profile page >

Karleen Bradford

Author profile page >

Susan Aihoshi

Author profile page >

Haworth-Attard, Barbara

BARBARA HAWORTH -ATTARD is an acclaimed children’s author, enjoyed by critics and readers alike. Theories of Relativity was a finalist for the Governor General’s Award, among other prizes, and Irish Chain was a Red Maple Honour Book, a Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award Honour Book and a finalist for the Geoffrey Bilson Award. Her other popular titles include Forget-Me-Not, Flying Geese, Home Child, Dark of the Moon, Truth Singer and Love-Lies-Bleeding. Barbara Haworth- Attard lives with her family in London, Ontario. Visit her website at www.barbarahaworthattard.com.

Author profile page >

Norah McClintock

Norah McClintock won the Crime Writers of Canada's Arthur Ellis Award for crime fiction for young people five times. She wrote more than sixty YA novels, including contributions to Seven (the series), the Seven Sequels and the Secrets series.
Author profile page >

Janet McNaughton

Janet McNaughton was fifteen when she began to write her first book - a historical novel for young readers. She did not finish it, but did learn she loved finding out how people lived and thought in the past. This led her to study folklore in university and eventually brought her to Newfoundland. After completing a Ph.D in Folklore, she returned to her first love, writing for young readers.

Ms. McGrath is the winner of the Violet Downey National Chapter of the IODE Book Award (best Canadian English Language Children's Book), Ann Conner Brimer Award for Children's Literature in Atlantic Canada, and the Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People. She has also been short-listed for the Mr. Christie Book Award, the Blue Heron Book Award and the CLA Young Adult Book Award. Most recently she has been nominated for the 1998 Governor General's Literary Award for Children's Literature, 1998 Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction and the 1998 Red Maple Reading Award.

Janet also reviews books for Quill & Quire and Atlantic Books Today. She has also contributed to Canadian Bookseller, Books in Canada, and Canadian Author. Janet writes essays for adult literacy education and sometimes does radio commentary. She currently resides in St. John's with her husband and daughter.

Author profile page >

Ruby Slipperjack

Ruby Slipperjack was born and raised at her father’s trapline at Whitewater Lake in northwestern Ontario. She is a member of the Eabametoong First Nation and speaks fluent Ojibway. She uses her maiden name “Slipperjack” when she writes, in honour of her parents and ancestors for the cultural knowledge and teachings that inform her writing. Ruby is the mother of three daughters and currently lives in Thunder Bay with her husband and their two shelties. She is an accomplished artist and a certified hunter. Ruby works at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay, Ontario, and is known to her students as Dr. Ruby Farrell, Associate Professor, Chair, Department of Indigenous Learning. Ruby’s other books include Honour the Sun and Silent Words.
Author profile page >

Other titles by Jean Little

more >

Other titles by Sarah Ellis

more >

Other titles by Carol Matas

more >

Other titles by Karleen Bradford

more >

Other titles by Susan Aihoshi

Other titles by Haworth-Attard, Barbara

more >

Other titles by Norah McClintock

more >

Other titles by Janet McNaughton

more >

Other titles by Ruby Slipperjack

more >

User Activity

more >
Contacting facebook
Please wait...