Sponsored Collection

Atlantic Books for the Holidays

9781554906871_cover

Follow Me Down

An Orwell Brennan Mystery

by Marc Strange

0 ratings
rated!
rated!
0 of 5
comments: 0
reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.

list price: $10.95
edition:eBook
also available: Hardcover Paperback
category: Fiction
published: 2010
ISBN:9781554906871
publisher: ECW Press
Description

 

The forests around Dockerty, Newry County, hide many secrets.

Some were never meant to be unearthed, one is still waiting to be buried. At the edge of the woods near the Warren farm, a man hangs in a tree. Two arrows pin him to the trunk.

“Hunting accident?” Orwell wondered.

The sergeant shook his head. “One in the belly, maybe. Two in the belly, that’s pretty good shooting.”

Orwell Brennan, Dockerty’s chief of police, is partial to classic Motown, autumn sunrises, and most kinds of pie. He dislikes ceremony, squabbling with the Mayor, and being told to stay clear of matters that don’t concern him.

It doesn’t matter if it’s murder or a hunting accident, the dead man in the tree is the responsibility of Metro Homicide. Orwell has been ordered off the case. He would be happy to do just that if the pat solution he’s been handed made sense. But there are far too many unanswered questions to suit him. No matter whose toes get stepped on, he can’t and won’t let it go until he knows what really happened.

 

close this panel
Contributor notes

Marc Strange is a writer and actor. He is co-creator of the hit television series The Beachcombers, and between 1972 and 1990 wrote, directed, and/or story edited over seventy episodes. He has appeared in many Canadian and Hollywood feature films and television series, most recently ReGenesis. Strange is the author of Sucker Punch, a Joe Grundy Mystery (Dundurn, 2007) and Body Blows, a Joe Grundy Mystery (Dundurn, 2009). Sucker Punch was shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel.

close this panel
Editorial Review

 

“Take nothing for granted in this smoothly written series debut from Edgar finalist Strange (Body Blows), who springs out several surprises. Fans of Giles Blunt and Louise Penny may enjoy.” — Library Journal

“Excellent first in a new series from Edgar-finalist Strange . . . Readers will appreciate the freshly drawn setting, especially the farms and woods outside Dockerty, as well as the vivid characters capable of startling revelations.” — Publishers Weekly

“A down-home, folksy tale of murder and greed. It's well-paced, the dialogue hits the right tone and the colours of the story gently remind you of the Beachcombers. It's as deadly as that second arrow.” — Hamilton Spectator

 

close this panel

Buy this book at:


About the Author

Marc Strange

Marc Strange is a writer and actor. He was co-creator of The Beachcombers (with L.S. Strange) and between 1972 and 1990 wrote, directed, and/or story-edited over seventy episodes. Strange is the author of Follow Me Down (ECW Press, 2010), Sucker Punch (Dundurn, 2007), which was shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel and Body Blows (Dundurn, 2009), winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Paperback Original. He lives in Toronto.
Author profile page >

Other titles by Marc Strange

more >

User Activity

more >
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...