Sponsored Collection

Atlantic Books for the Holidays

9781402297557_interior

How to Outrun a Crocodile When Your Shoes Are Untied

by Jess Keating

1 rating
rated!
rated!
4 of 5
comments: 0
reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.

humorous stories
list price: $16.99
edition:Paperback
published: 2014
ISBN:9781402297557
publisher: Sourcebooks
Description

Age Level: 9 and up | Grade Level: 4 to 7

From surviving middle school to feeling like a misfit, Ana Wright tackles it all in How to Outrun a Crocodile When Your Shoes are Untied. This heartwarming, coming of age story is the perfect summer reading book for middle school girls!

Ana Wright's social life is officially on the endangered list: she lives in a zoo (umm, elephant droppings!?), her best friend lives on the other side of the world, and the Sneerers are making junior high miserable. All Ana wants is to fade into the background.

Yeah, that's not going to happen.

Creature File for Ana Wright:
Species Name: Anaphyta Normalis
Kingdom: The Zoo, Junior High
Phylum: Girls Whose Best Friend Just Moved To New Zealand; Girls Who Are Forced To Live In A Zoo With Their Weirdo Parents And Twin Brother
Weight: Classified
Feeds On: Daydreams about Zackardia Perfecticus and wish cupcakes
Life Span: Soon to become extinct due to social awkwardness

A 2015 Georgia Children's Book Award Winner
A 2015 Children's Choices Reading List Title
A 2015 Red Maple Award Nominee

"A fun-filled, pitch-perfect book...An amusing, highly readable book about the perils of being 12 in a snake-eat-snake world."—Kirkus Reviews, STARRED Review

close this panel
Contributor notes

As an author and zoologist, Jess Keating has tickled a shark, lost a staring contest against an octopus, and been a victim to the dreaded paper cut. She lives in Ontario, Canada, where she spends most of her time writing books for adventurous and funny kids. Her first fiction novel How to Outrun a Crocodile When Your Shoes Are Untied received a Starred Review from Kirkus and has been nominated for a Red Maple award. Visit her online at jesskeating.com.

close this panel
Editorial Reviews

""As if junior high isn't enough of a zoo, Jess Keating's debut... [is] a menagerie of laugh-out-loud antics and relatable tween woes." --Anna Staniszewski, author of The Dirt Diary" -


"An absolutely perfect summer read." - Girls' Life Magazine.com


"Debut author Keating delivers a fun-filled, pitch-perfect book...Humor, poignancy and fascinating zoological facts infuse the narrative with a warm conversational tone...An amusing, highly readable book about the perils of being 12 in a snake-eat-snake world. (Starred)" - Kirkus Reviews


"A little bit of romance, a little bit of well deserved revenge, and a whole lot of laughs, heart, spirit, and "I can SO relate" moments, fill the pages of How To Outrun A Crocodile When Your Shoes Are Untied. Readers young and old will go wild for this book and impatiently be awaiting its sequel. A definite MUST read!" - Word Spelunking


""A wild romp, filled with humor and heart." ~ Lisa Schroeder, author of It's Raining Cupcakes and the Charmed Life series" -


"Life is literally a zoo for shy 12-year-old Anna, who is trying to avoid seventh-grade bullies while hiding that her family lives among crocodiles and elephants." - Los Angeles Times


""Ana's relationships with her parents and grandfather are a perfect blend of respect and frustration, while her lack of self-confidence will resonate with readers... Recommended for fans of Coco Simon's 'Cupcake Diaries' and Stuart Gibbs's 'FunJungle" series."
" - School Library Journal

close this panel

Buy this book at:


About the Author

Jess Keating

As a zoologist and author, Jess Keating has been sprayed by skunks, bitten by crocodiles, and victim of the dreaded paper cut. Her books blend science, humor, and creativity, and include the acclaimed My Life Is a Zoo middle-grade trilogy and award-winning picture books, like Shark Lady and Pink Is for Blobfish. Jess lives in Ontario, Canada, where she loves hiking, nerdy documentaries, and writing books for curious and adventurous kids. Jess can be found online at www.jesskeatingbooks.com or on Twitter at @Jess_Keating.
Author profile page >

Other titles by Jess Keating

more >

This book has been listed 2 times

User Activity

more >
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...