Sponsored Collection

Atlantic Books for the Holidays

9781773100036_cover

MARRY, BANG, KILL

by Andrew Battershill

0 ratings
rated!
rated!
0 of 5
comments: 0
reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.

literary, crime, black humor
list price: $11.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
category: Fiction
published: 2018
ISBN:9781773100036
Description

For a guy who mugs people for their laptops, Tommy Marlo isn’t such a bad guy. He can’t help trying to make the people he meets — even those he mugs — feel better about their situation. Unfortunately for Tommy, he rips off the daughter of a psychotic, high-ranking member of a notorious motorcycle gang. Even worse, the laptop that he pilfered contains proof of a few gruesome murders and the location of a huge stash of money. Flat broke and marked for death, his only shot at surviving is to rob the motorcycle gang, use the cash to get out of town, and hide out on the small island where his mother now lives.

What follows is a revisionist crime thriller, a page-turning hybrid of literary and genre fiction for fans of Elmore Leonard or Patrick deWitt. But Battershill writes with a voice all his own. Deftly combining crackling dialogue with biting wit, MARRY, BANG, KILL hums with the thrill of chaos as Tommy runs to a quiet island to escape a swelling cast of characters who are trying to arrest, rob, kill, or save him. The island won’t be quiet for long.

close this panel
Editorial Reviews

"MARRY, BANG, KILL is the super fun, expertly crafted, west coast genre-bending crime thriller I didn't even know I needed, and now can't stop talking about."

— Amy Jones

"A rogues' gallery of small-time crooks that would make Elmore Leonard and the Coen Brothers proud. Battershill mixes sardonic wit and kinetic action with a razor-sharp eye for the details of west coast life. Stylish and smart."

— Sam Wiebe

"Combine the plot from a Richard Stark 'Parker' novel with the humour of early Charles Portis and you'll come close to the shenanigans in MARRY, BANG, KILL. My advice? Just shut up and read this book."

— Michael Winter

"A surprisingly heartfelt story tucked inside a superbly oddball crime thriller."

— <i>Publishers Weekly</i>

"A comic noir with a particular west coast Canuck vibe: loose, absurd, sweet. There's abundant skill here, and plenty of laughs, but also the pleasure of reading a writer finding a space of his very own."

— Andrew Pyper

"A sprawling, gonzo hide-and-seek narrative that will appeal to fans of Breaking Bad."

— <i>Quill & Quire</i>

"Great dialogue, a good story and some memorable individuals all contribute to making MARRY, BANG, KILL a winner in my book."

— <i>The Miramichi Reader</i>
close this panel

Buy this book at:


About the Author

Andrew Battershill

Andrew Battershill is a writer and teacher currently living in Columbus, Ohio. A graduate of the University of Toronto's MA in English in the Field of Creative Writing, he was the Fiction Editor and co-founder of Dragnet Magazine. Pillow is his first novel.

Author profile page >

Other titles by Andrew Battershill

more >

User Activity

more >
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...