Sponsored Collection

Atlantic Books for the Holidays

Working People

Life in a Downtown City Neighbourhood

by James Lorimer & Myfanwy Phillips

0 ratings
rated!
rated!
0 of 5
comments: 0
reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.

urban, city planning & urban development
list price: $14.95
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: 1971
ISBN:9780888620125
imprint: Lorimer
Description

This book is a classic, intimate study of the people of Toronto's East of Parliament neighbourhood in the 1970's, a time when the working-class district came under undprecendented pressure from developers and middle-class gentrification.

An unconvential account, Working People combines a wide variety of materials--interviews, economic analysis, songs, jokes, newspaper advertisements, community newspapers, photographs--to present an unparalleled portrait of a changing urban community in depth.

Working People remains a fascinating record of a community in transition.

close this panel
Editorial Reviews

"A book in the tradition of Agee and Orwell."

— Robert Fulford

"A kind of unconventional masterpiece."

— Toronto Star
close this panel

Buy this book at:


About the Authors

James Lorimer

JAMES LORIMER is the author of numerous books on city politics. He is also involved in book publishing.
Author profile page >

Myfanwy Phillips

MYFANWY PHILLIPS is the author of The Children of Peace. Her photographs are also featured in Heather Robertson\s Grass Roots.'
Author profile page >

Other titles by James Lorimer

more >

Other titles by Myfanwy Phillips

more >

User Activity

more >
X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...